Strobist Sensei

It was an absolute blast shooting this Sensei in action … At first I was a little overwhelmed by the situation … given that he was expecting somewhat of a pro, and not some kid with a head full of ideas … but i overcame the situation with ease and got on to the shooting part. (I think it was the first time a client calmed me down instead of the other way around)

So … shooting him was effortless … he quickly complied with anything i asked of him … even had helpful suggestions of his own.

This first one was shot with the 85mm f/1.8, and even though i usually use this lens for “head & shoulders protraits” it worked really well here. I think the flatness of the tele lens combined with the way the thin depth of field places a subject in space makes this photo look good. A weird combo but it worked here.

I shot the second one with the 50mm f/1.8. It gave me more room to frame my subject.

The last photo was shot with my 18-55 kit lens.  I had to get low to the ground, mosquitoes were biting my face and my legs and sweat was slowly making it’s way from my forehead through my eyebrows and into my eyes … it was all worth it.

Hope y’all like’em !

Leave a Reply

